My Grandmother


The image below is a photograph that must have been taken circa 1920. As you can see from the original I have retouched it and added a bit of color.

I obtained the original photgraph by pure chance when I was visiting with an Aunt back home in Scotland. Up until then I had no idea the photo even existed.

My Gran was an amazing woman who died from breast cancer when I was about 12 years old.

She was always very special to me so this work was quite an emotional experience. I only hope I have done her justice.

 

Annie Rodden

Annie Rodden

 

8 thoughts on “My Grandmother

  1. You really did an authentic job on the colors, Ian. She is beautiful! Having lost my own mother to cancer when I was just 18 years old, I can only imagine the emotions that went along with this project. You have created an amazing keepsake of her, and I hope it brings you a lot of joy for years to come. I’m sure she would be very proud of you!

  2. Thanks Ian. I am very sorry for the loss of your grandmother at such a tender age as well. It is a rough disease for sure. I’m guessing that some of your grandmother’s spirit lives on through you? She has beautiful eyes, full of adventurous twinkle.

Leave a Reply

