Main Street


I have lived in Houston now for over 4 years but for one reason or another I have only been in downtown Houston at night on a couple of occasions. This particular time I was there for the purpose of taking photos.

I really did not know how vibrant, colorful and lively downtown was (I’m a country boy at heart). The image below was taken looking North on Main Street between the rail tracks of the City Metro. If you look very closely you can see Polaris, the North Star.

I have to admit that I really like this photo but it did not strike me as any thing special. As I usually do with my favorite images I uploaded it to 500px on Monday evening and did not give it a second thought until I checked my email on Tuesday morning.

My inbox had over 50 emails waiting to be read…….. The response to the image on 500px was unprecedented for me. The emails were a mixture of people commenting on the photo or adding to their favorites. During Tuesday the emails kept coming and by 5pm that evening the photo had managed to creep its way up to the first page of the popular pages where the images of the top photographers around the globe reside. By 9pm that evening the photo had been viewed by over 2,000 people.

Some of the people reading this know that I have skydived for the last 20 years and I have over 4,500 jumps under my belt. Please believe me that the response to my photo was as exciting as any jump I have ever done…..well…..nearly.

The moral to this story is that even a blind squirrel finds a nut from time to time, and even the novice photographer can hang out with the big guys.

 

5 thoughts on “Main Street

  1. Hi Ian! Sorry it’s been awhile since I’ve been able to get here to your blog, but I do get your updates in my email so I keep up with you there. 🙂 I just wanted to Congratulate you on the wonderful success that you enjoyed with this image. I watched it make its way to the first page of Popular on 500px and I was cheering you on all the way! It was very well deserved…. and a long time coming in my opinion. Your work is wonderful and I enjoy all of it! So happy for you on this one!

Leave a Reply

